RE: Interview w/ Furaha Henry-Jones ~The Mathematics of Writing

The Sixlines Writers Retreat is this coming weekend. As a member of Sixlines and featured faculty we were excited to learn more about her as a writer and a lover of words.
526309_10200813456797603_631787746_n
 What did you do over the summer?
    A: I’ve been a teacher for 22 years. First, I taught high school English and for the last decade I’ve been teaching composition, literature, and creative writing at Sinclair Community College.

What was your childhood like (background)?
    A: I moved around a lot. In fact, about every 2-3 years. I’ve lived outside of Chicago, Rochester, NY, and Philadelphia, but I’ve always considered St. Paul, Minnesota my home. I was born there and every summer I’d go back to stay with my grandmother for a month or so. My best memories are in Minnesota. All of my aunts, uncles, cousins, grandparents lived there when I was growing up and it is the only physical place that felt like home until now.

What is your favorite movie?
    A: That is a horribly difficult question! Let’s just say I really like watching documentaries. Like is so much stranger than fiction sometimes and documentaries so often support that.

Who are your greatest influences?
    A: This may sound cliche, but my mama and daddy are definitely the most influential people in my life.

Name 2 people that you would love to collaborate with?
    A: Living? Isabel Allende. Though I would have to brush up on my spanish. Ancestor? Harriet Tubman. I’d love to just listen to her and transcribe the words to poetry.
What do you do to recharge?
    A: Simple. I shut everything down and hang out at home. Spending that time reading, writing, or, honestly, just being still helps.

7. What is the last book you read?
    A: I’m currently reading the book Wash by Margaret Wrinkle.
Front of Dynamic Writers Reteat
Leave a Reply

